Mark Richard, a local architect and not really a cyclist, was the one who first came up with the idea of the Tour of the Gila bicycle stage race. He thought that by organizing a bicycle race in Grant County would help to promote our area to potential tourists. I think that Mark would be pleasantly surprised as to how far the Tour of the Gila has come in the past 31 years. The Tour of the Gila is an ionic American bicycle race that is now known nationally and internationally. Thank you Mark Richard for starting that process.


Year Rider Team Year Rider Team
1987 Andy Bishop (USA)   1987 Nancy Shipp (USA)  
1988 Gavin O’Grady (USA) Cannondale Racing Team 1988 Jane Marshall (USA)  
1989 John Lieswyn (USA)   1989 Carolyn Donnelly (USA)  
1990 Drew Miller (USA)   1990 Carolyn Donnelly (USA)  
1991 Björn Bäckmann (SWE)   1991 Laura Peycke (USA)  
1992 Kevin Livingston (USA)   1992 Jane Gagne (USA)  
1993 José Robles (COL)   1993 Martha Wavrin (USA)  
1994 Drew Miller (USA)   1994 Carolyn Donnelly (USA)  
1995 Jonathan Vaughters (USA)   1995 Carolyn Donnelly (USA)  
1996 Burke Swindlehurst (USA)   1996 Desiree Margagliano (USA)  
1997 Bart Bowen (USA) Saturn 1997 No Race  
1998 Burke Swindlehurst (USA) Nutra Fig 1998 Jeannie Longo (FRA)  
1999 Chris Wherry (USA) Saturn Cycling Team 1999 Kimberly Bruckner (USA)  
2000 Eric Wohlberg (CAN) Team Shaklee 2000 Mari Holden (USA) Timex
2001 Scott Moninger (USA) Mercury-Viatel 2001 Geneviève Jeanson (CAN) Rona
2002 Chris Wherry (USA) Mercury Cycling Team 2002 Geneviève Jeanson (CAN) Rona
2003 Drew Miller (USA) Trek-Volkswagen 2003 Geneviève Jeanson (CAN) Rona Esker
2004 Scott Moninger (USA) Health Net-Maxxis 2004 Amber Neben (USA) T-Mobile
2005 Burke Swindlehurst (USA) Team Seasilver 2005 Kimberly Baldwin (USA) T-Mobile
2006 Chris Baldwin (USA) Toyota-United 2006 Kristin Armstrong (USA) Team Lipton
2007 Nathan O’Neill (AUS) Health Net-Maxxis 2007 Mara Abbott (USA) Webcor Builders
2008 Gregorio Ladino (COL) Tecos de la Universidad de Guadalajara 2008 Leah Goldstein (ISR) ValueAct Capital
2009 Levi Leipheimer (USA) Mellow Johnny’s 2009 Kristin Armstrong (USA) Cervélo TestTeam
2010 Levi Leipheimer (USA) Mellow Johnny’s 2010 Mara Abbott (USA) Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty12
2011 Francisco Mancebo (ESP) Cycling Team 2011 Clara Hughes (CAN) Pactimo Cycling
2012 Rory Sutherland (AUS) UnitedHealthcare 2012 Kristin Armstrong (USA) Exergy Twenty12
2013 Philip Deignan (IRL) UnitedHealthcare 2013 Mara Abbott (USA) Exergy Twenty16
2014 Carter Jones (USA) Optum-Kelly Benefit Strategies 2014 Mara Abbott (USA) UnitedHealthcare 
2015 Rob Britton (CAN) Team SmartStop 2015 Mara Abbott (USA) Amy D Foundation
2016 Lachlan Morton (AUS) Jelly Belly-Maxxis 2016 Mara Abbott (USA) Amy D Foundation
2017 Evan Huffman (USA) Rally Cycling 2017 Tayler Wiles (USA) UnitedHealthcare
2018 Rob Britton (CAN) Rally Cycling 2018 Katie Hall (USA) UnitedHealthcare
2019 Jame Piccoli (CAN) Elevate-KHS Pro Cycling 2019 Brodie Chapman (AUS) TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank